FUELING YOUR HIGH INTENSITY WORKOUT

by Elizabeth

Lately, I’ve had a lot of people asking me about what kind of supplements I take. First of all, please note that as my exercise routine changes, so do my supplements. There are certain ones I keep throughout, no matter what, but a few of them change. Also, it’s important to realize that, depending on the type of exercise you are doing, you may have to find a specific diet plan that works well for your body and whatever type of training you are doing. (I will get into this more later. But, yes, a lot of it has to do with carbs and protein.) And, of course, always consult your doctor before taking new supplements or beginning a high-intensity exercise routine.

As some of you know, I’ve just completed Shaun T’s Insanity program (whoo hoo!), but I have opted out of taking Beachbody’s supplements for personal reasons. So I have come up with my own solution that’s not only healthier but just as powerful for fueling a HIIT program.

Today, I am giving you my pre-workout solution. But there is much, much more to supplementing high intensity training than what you take before your workout. In the future, I will be sharing my full Fuel-Plan for HIIT programs, including the pre-workout formula, post-workout recovery solution, protein smoothie options, and other supplements you might want to include in your diet during training time. So let’s start with the pre-workout.

Pre-workout.

  1. Vega Sport Pre-Workout Energizer (Although the Lemon-Lime flavor is shown here, don’t get it! I decided to try something different, and totally regretted it… yuck! Get the Acai Berry flavor!!) Buy this on Amazon.com for the best price.
  2. Divine Health Vanilla or Chocolate Whey Protein (Buy from drcolbert.com) I like the chocolate most, but I did vanilla with the lemon-lime energizer. If you can’t do dairy, I would highly recommend Vega Sport Performance Protein (Get it from Amazon.com)
  3. Optimum Nutrition Unflavored BCAA Powder or Capsules or Muscle Pharm BCAA Capsules (optional). Buy either of these from Amazon.com as well.

Directions:
Pour 1 scoop of the energizer and 1/2 a scoop of whey protein powder into a blender bottle/shaker with 6-8 oz. of water. If you are taking extra BCAAs (both brands of protein powder already contain some but I take extra), pour 1/2 a dose into the shaker as well (you can open the capsules & pour them in, which I prefer to just taking the capsules because the body absorbs it quicker). Shake it up & drink it down 20-30 minutes before your workout. I workout in the mornings, so I leave this by my bed next to a full water bottle. As soon as I wake up, I add my water to the blender bottle, shake it up, drink it, and get ready for my workout (yes, on an empty stomach). Okay, I’ll admit, I usually go back to sleep read my Bible and pray very fervently for about 10-15 minutes.

This may seem pretty expensive at first glance, but the energizer is the same price as Beachbody’s pre-workout formula (you pay shipping on their site, but not on Amazon so it evens out). Depending on the intensity & length of your workout & if you’re eating a meal beforehand, you could maybe skip the extra protein powder (just make sure you wait 1-2 hours to exercise after eating). But since I workout first thing in the morning, I need a little something in my stomach that isn’t so heavy that my body ends up focusing it’s energy on digesting rather than muscle support. Plus, I use this same protein powder for my smoothies, which is the main reason why I buy it. If you have another brand that works great for you, stick with that. But honestly, this one is the best I’ve tried. Also, you may be fine without the extra BCAAs. It really just depends how much muscle strength your workout requires. Test it out and see how your body responds. You can always add it in later.

More about Vega Sport Pre-Workout Energizer:

http://vegasport.com/en/prepare/pre-workout-energizer

More about Divine Health Vanilla or Chocolate Whey Protein:

http://drcolbert.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=382#.UIDLCo5c4m0

More about Vega Sport Performance Protein:

http://vegasport.com/en/recover/performance-protein

More about BCAAs & why you need them:

http://www.bodybuilding.com/store/bcaa.html

